oh yes, please double dip my oreo cheesecake truffles in chocolate

13 Mar

One of my favouritest people from Apple asked me to save her from buying/baking something mediocre for her sleepover party that she’s attending. Jen’s only requests were that whatever I made should be very chocolatey and shouldn’t contain coconut. Pretty easy, right? Well, I pretty much jumped at the opportunity to finally try out the oreo truffle recipe I found on Bakerella‘s website. Seeing as her blog is one of my favouritest blogs, I thought it’d only be a perfect match for Jen’s needs.

After reading the recipe and all of the comments to see if there were any pitfalls to watch out for, I asked Opie to come with me to Bulk Barn, which seems to be the only place anywhere near my house that sells chocolate wafers. I didn’t want to go through all the trouble and possible failure of tempering chocolate to the right stage, so I figured traveling all the way to the east end of the city during 60km/hour winds would be a better idea. Not…..

Anyhow, I made the actual truffle the night before, formed it into the right sized spheres, and then just refrigerated it over night until the following evening. The chocolate for dipping would have to be melted, and since the truffles contain cream cheese, they are fragile enough to start melting or falling apart while dipping. I found that refrigerating them as long as possible did the trick.

This was also my first time dipping truffles into chocolate! I’ve drizzled with chocolate, I’ve baked with chocolate, I’ve spread chocolate onto the bases of macaroons, I’ve written in chocolate, but the task of dipping truffles without creating a hideous end result was daunting. I bought a dipping kit from Bulk Barn which contained the perfect tool for dipping truffles: it looks like a fork with the middle tines missing, and worked like a charm – until it broke after the 10th truffle. For a moment, I thought about trying to tape it into place because it was nearing 11pm. Thank goodness I found a plastic fork in one of my drawers, and decided to create my own dipping tool. Needless to say, buying the kit was a waste of money, and I’ll just use plastic forks from now on!

The only thing I had to adjust from Bakerella’s recipe was the amount of Oreo cookies I used. She saved 7 cookies, but I found that my mix was still too wet, so I added the remaining cookies (except for one, which I ate), and it turned out fine. I found that you had to double dip the white chocolate covered truffles, or else it was still a bit too translucent. The milk chocolate covered ones could get away with only a single dip, but who in their right mind would say no to a double helping of chocolate?

Recipe comes right after the jump:

eenie meenie....

eenie meenie....

....miny moe...

....miny moe...

...aw heck, just eat them all!

...aw heck, just eat them all!

img_2921

and yet another box!

trffle4

one box of truffles is great....

truffle5

...but two boxes are even better!

Recipe

Ingredients:

  • 1 package Oreo cookies (divided… use cookie including the cream center)
  • 8oz. package cream cheese (softened)
  • white and dark chocolate bark/melts/wafers

How-to:

  1. Break Oreo cookies in half and put them into your food processor. Pulse on high until you’ve ground them pretty fine, roughly like bread crumbs.
  2. In a bowl, mix the cream cheese using your hand mixer or KitchenAid standmixer, and add the Oreo crumbs until combined.
  3. Roll your mix into 1inch balls and refrigerate for as long as possible.
  4. Melt the bark in two separate bowls, using the microwave or a double boiler.
  5. Dip each ball in the chocolate, tap off the excess and slide onto a sheet of wax paper to cool. For the white chocolate bark, you’ll have to double dip to get the right colour, but I did it for both chocolate barks because the more chocolate, the merrier.
  6. I used a plastic fork with the two middle tines broken off, and it worked like a charm.
  7. Let the truffles chill. Bon Appetit =)

xo dessertchick

11 Responses to “oh yes, please double dip my oreo cheesecake truffles in chocolate”

  1. Lucia March 17, 2009 at 3:36 pm #

    Amazing..! Two christmasses in a row now, my roommate and I’ve tried to make truffles, but it always turned out lopsided and awful. Thanks for the handy trick with the fork.

  2. Bakerella March 17, 2009 at 9:50 pm #

    They look FABULOUS!

  3. meganscreations April 29, 2009 at 8:09 am #

    Hi there lol.
    I just was looking at your recipe and noticed that you had the same page as me! lol I thought it was funny!
    I also love your recipe! *well I can’t say I love it YET!* but it looks supper yummy!

    Check out my blog at http://thecreativehousewife.wordpress.com/ I’m really new at this so I’m not the best.. But I’m getting better..
    Hope you enjoy it!
    have a great day!
    ~Megan

  4. Kerry March 9, 2010 at 9:53 pm #

    When you double dip for the white do you do it right after or after it cools?

  5. Mimi June 5, 2012 at 6:33 pm #

    Hi,

    For packaging, did you use mini cupcake liners, or special packaging liners? I’ve been trying to figure out whether mini cupcake liners are best for packaging my cake balls…

    Thanks!

  6. Clash of Clans Hacks July 16, 2013 at 4:23 am #

    Wow! I’m genuinely enjoying the style and design of your site. Are you using a custom made theme or is this readily available to all users? If you don’t want to say the name of it out in the public, please be sure to email me at: gilbertdickinson@web.
    de. I’d love to get my hands on this theme! Thanks a lot.

  7. BestNolan September 6, 2018 at 1:13 am #

    I see you don’t monetize your website, don’t waste your traffic,
    you can earn additional bucks every month. You can use the best adsense
    alternative for any type of website (they approve all websites), for more info
    simply search in gooogle: boorfe’s tips monetize your website

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. cupcakes with bite pt 1 « Chocolate Fool - March 30, 2009

    […] post has the recipe AND the instructions, and will make 20 medium sized […]

  2. cupcakes with bite pt 1 « Food World - March 30, 2009

    […] post has the recipe AND the instructions, and will make 20 medium sized […]

  3. Sugary Shout Out! « The Cake Eccentric's Blog - December 15, 2009

    […]  And you only need 3 ingredients to make these truffles.  I found these on another wordpress blog ChocolateFool and she got the recipe from […]

  4. oreo cheesecake truffles | Well Cooked - April 21, 2013

    […] Recipe Link […]

Leave a comment