dynamite cookies and pretzel fudge

8 Jun
When I think about being a kid, I think about eating fudge. Whether it’s just plain and simple chocolate fudge, or ooey gooey rocky road fudge, or the delicious peanut butter fudge – just the thought of those overly-sweet and melt-in-your-mouth treats makes me want to be five years old again.
Work has been a pain lately, so between avoiding summer school and dealing with people who want their lattes, I decided to make fudge as some much-needed therapy and anger management. It’s a lot easier, cheaper and satisfying than seeing a shrink 😉
Instead of keeping it simple, I thought I’d try something new! Let me present you my double decker dynamite fudge:  cookies and cream fudge on top, and salty pretzels sandwiched in dark chocolate fudge. These babies are best enjoyed in small dosages, but make the toothache soo worth it.
Enjoy!
a bowl of in-your-face sweetness

a bowl of in-your-face sweetness

cookies & cream meets sweet & salty

cookies & cream meets sweet & salty

seriously, oreo cookies can go into absolutely anything

seriously, oreo cookies can go into absolutely anything

all wrapped up nicely to share with your friends...

all wrapped up nicely to share with your friends...

...but sometimes, sharing can be hard ;)

...but sometimes, sharing can be hard 😉

Recipe

Ingredients:

  • 1 package Baker’s dark chocolate squares (225 grams)
  • 1 package Baker’s white chocolate squares (225 grams)
  • 2 cans of condensed sweetened milk (250ml each)
  • 20 cookies of your choice – mine were Oreos
  • 25 salted pretzels

How-to:

  1. Microwave the dark chocolate with one can of condensed milk for 2 to 3 minutes, or until chocolate is nearly all melted, stirring thoroughly after each minute.
  2. Spread the mixture into a square 8-inch pan (lined with parchment paper), and top with pretzels (leave them whole, when you cut the fudge later, you’ll end up with an even amount of pretzels throughout), making sure to press them slightly into the fudge.
  3. Repeat melting the white chocolate with the second can of condensed milk.
  4. Break the cookies into quarters, and stir into the white chocolate mixture. Spread that on top of the dark chocolate and the pretzels.
  5. Refrigerate until firm – about 2  hours. Cutting is easiest with a knife dipped into hot water.
  6. Eat (and maybe share) 🙂

xo dessertchick

19 Responses to “dynamite cookies and pretzel fudge”

  1. Stevers June 9, 2009 at 9:28 am #

    Help! What is the ingredient list/amounts!!!

  2. oneshotbeyond June 9, 2009 at 12:11 pm #

    okay wait…do you crush the pretzels? What about the cookies…? They look broken up in the fudge, but you don’t mention that in the recipe. They look amazing. I really want to try these and hope you’re able to comment back with the answers soon! 🙂 Wonderful job on the photos!

  3. justalittlepiece June 9, 2009 at 1:13 pm #

    This is ridiculously dangerous!!! YAY!

    justalittlepiece.wordpress.com

  4. Memoria June 9, 2009 at 5:31 pm #

    I must make these for my students! Thanks!

  5. Bunny June 9, 2009 at 7:09 pm #

    I love your blog, you certainly have some great things on here! I have a 12 yr old that is oreo obsessed, she’ll love these!!

  6. newmaldon June 9, 2009 at 8:17 pm #

    WOW! I’m going to have to try those!

  7. womanofworship June 9, 2009 at 8:41 pm #

    mmm chocolate. . . I luv I recently wrote one as well. . thankx for the recipes of chocolate. .

    womanofworship.com

    thankx be blessed today!

  8. bronte June 9, 2009 at 10:38 pm #

    OMGGGG…my mouth is literally WATERING…
    i dont know who you are, but thank you SO much for sharing this recipe!

  9. dessertchick June 9, 2009 at 10:51 pm #

    Hey lovelies,

    the packages of chocolate are 225 grams each and the condensed milk comes in 250 ml cans!

    and the cookies you crush, while the pretzels you leave whole!

  10. bobbygee June 10, 2009 at 6:40 am #

    My wife loves this stuff. Cool. If want some great cookies and brownies .Check out Cookies and Milk. Yes, I said Cookies and Milk..That’s the name of company out of Annapolis Junction Maryland. Check em they are a good. bobby Gee. Check out my blog, http://bobbygee.wordpress.com/

  11. Gazel June 10, 2009 at 11:14 am #

    That looks so-so-so good.
    I will be making these for my teachers before school ends. Thanks for the recipe!

  12. Emily June 10, 2009 at 2:55 pm #

    Oh my god! *Drooooool*

  13. oneshotbeyond June 16, 2009 at 12:36 pm #

    okay so I made these delights last night. The person I sent to the store for me brought home the wrong white chocolate…so the tops were’nt quite as firm as I think they should have been, BUT and the large but is fully appropriate here because despite my mishap they are FANTASTIC pieces of chocolate. I brought 1/2 of them to work and I keep hearing people in the halls saying “this stuff is so amazing”. One guy even said he’ll pay me to make them regularly. lol I was actually scared to bring them in b/c of the tad bit soft tops…but nobody else seemed to mind. Next time I’ll get the right bakers white chocolate and I bet they’ll be even better. Flavor wise they are so unique. I am in love with the salty pretzel flavor in the dark chocolate. I have always loved salty chocolate though. I may make them on occasion in a 9×13 with 2 layers of preztels and nothing else. Maybe around Christmas.

    Thanks for a great easy recipe!!!

    🙂

    Heather

  14. chayacomfycook June 16, 2009 at 10:30 pm #

    This looks fabulous. Thanks a million. I have lots of grandchildren who will appreciate these.

  15. Zom! June 17, 2009 at 8:35 pm #

    I couldn’t find white bakers chocolate either and subbed a giant white chocolate bar instead! It took 3 days to set properly in the fridge, but luckily it was just as delicious on a spoon. When the fudge made itself to its intended recipient (much diminished in quantity…ooops….too much spoon!) there was much oohing and aaahing. Thanks for such a delicious, impressive and super easy recipe!

  16. Baker by Night January 25, 2011 at 2:16 pm #

    I love sweet and salty. It’s probably my favorite combination. I just found your blog and this recipe on tastespotting. Your photography is amazing! And this recipe especially is making me drool. I think that I will be making it this week to get me through a week of exams!

  17. Erika June 30, 2011 at 6:57 pm #

    These look absolutely amazing! I’ve been craving fudge like crazy lately!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Weekend Chocolaty Links : Chocolate Bytes - All About Chocolate - Delicious Chocolate Recipes - June 14, 2009

    […] Dynamite Cookies and Pretzel Fudge at The Chocolate […]

  2. Cookies And Cream – Recipes Using Oreos – Bites From Other Blogs - August 3, 2011

    […] Cookies And Pretzel Fudge From Chocolate Fool […]

Leave a comment