roll up your sleeves for some almond logs!

30 Apr

I love almonds. I mean, I absolutely adore almonds, and will pretty much snack on them whenever I can. In an attempt to find something that will top the deliciousness of my chocolate almond florentine cookies, I thought I’d give baking with almond meal a shot. After seeing how yummy these cookies turned out on Baking For The Cure, I whipped a batch up at 12am and had to wait until the next day to actually bake them, because these babies do require lots of refrigeration.

The dough is quite easy, as is the dipping and rolling in almond slices. The only time consuming part is the waiting for the dough to harden up enough to roll into logs, and then harden up once more after the rolling in almonds and before they go into the oven. In the end, this light and lemony butter cookie complements the toasted almond favour to a tee. I will definitely make these again, and my mom approved – and mom knows best!

almond logs right out of the oven

almond logs right out of the oven

I've decided to invest in wax paper, to save my sanity from the messes I make

I've decided to invest in wax paper, to save my sanity from the messes I make

a bowl full of goodness

a bowl full of goodness

meet the regular almond log...

meet the regular almond log...

...and now meet its cooler cousins, the chocolate almond logs

...and now meet its cooler cousins, the chocolate almond logs

look! the buttery, crumbly, citrusy, delicious inside!

look! the buttery, crumbly, citrusy, delicious inside!

Recipe

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup butter, cut into small pieces
  • zest from 1 lemon and 1 orange
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 cup minus 1 tablespoon flour
  • 1/3 cup finely ground almonds
  • 2 egg whites, lightly beaten
  • 1 1/2 cups almond slices
  • 1/4 cup semi-sweet chocolate

How-to:

  1. In a bowl, mix together the butter, lemon zest, sugar and vanilla extract until combined.
  2. Add the flour and the almonds and mix just until getting a dough. Cover, and chill in the fridge for at least an hour, or overnight.
  3. When dough has chilled, preheat the oven to 330F. Line a baking tray with parchment paper or your trusty silpad.
  4. I like to use a pan, and dry roast the almond slices until golden brown to give them an extra nutty flavour. I found that the baking time in the oven didn’t brown the almond slices enough to make them nice and crunchy. Once toasted, put the almond slices into a bowl and set aside to cool down.
  5. Form the dough into 1 1/2inch long and 1/4 inch diameter rolls from the chilled dough. I found that the dough was very buttery, so the warmth from my hands would melt start melting them after I made 2 rolls. I had to keep washing my hands in cold water to keep the dough from melting and sticking.
  6. After all the logs have been formed, dip each roll in the egg whites, and then in the toasted sliced almonds. Gently press the almonds to the cookie rolls. Place cookies on the baking tray, and chill for at least 20 minutes.
  7. Bake for 15-20 minutes, until the cookies are golden.
  8. Melt the chocolate and drizzle over cooled cookies.
  9. Munch away!

xo dessertchick

One Response to “roll up your sleeves for some almond logs!”

  1. gaga May 3, 2009 at 3:37 pm #

    I’m always looking for ways to use lemons and this looks perfect! They’re beautiful cookies.

Leave a Reply

