You’re the cream cheese icing on my carrot cake

20 Feb

It was the Boy’s 22nd birthday on Wednesday, and after wowing him with the snickerdoodles on Vday, I had to think of yet another way to surprise &delight him and his tummy. So, after much deliberation, I decided to bake him his favourite cake: carrot cake. However, since it was just going to be a small birthday dinner, I didn’t want to make a whole cake, so I turned that idea into birthday carrot cake cupcakes!

The recipe turned out really well, after some tweaking on my part, which were done purely according to mine and the Boy’s personal taste.

The best carrot cake I ever had used pineapple in the recipe, and although the recipe I found on AllRecipes.com got rave reviews, it missed the pineapple. So, I decided to add it and cut back on the oil, which worked our juuuuust fine. I also changed it from just using white sugar to using half brown and half white sugar. I added an extra teaspoon of cinnamon, as well as all spice, nutmeg and cloves, because I find it gives the cake more depth.

Oh, and I didn’t have pecans on hand, so I just omitted them.

Nomnomnom away!

simple yet elegant, and most importantly, delicious!

simple yet elegant, and most importantly, delicious!

and nothing says "happy 22nd birthday" like sprinkles!

and nothing says "happy 22nd birthday" like sprinkles....

....especially when they are candy coated chocolate sprinkles!

....especially when they are candy coated chocolate sprinkles!

Happy Birthday =)

Happy Birthday =)

Recipe

adapted from AllRecipes.com

This made 2 dozen cupcakes.

Ingredients

  • 4 eggs
  • 1  cup vegetable oil
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1 can crushed pineapple, drained
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 3 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1 tsp ground nutmeg
  • 1 tsp all spice
  • 1 tsp ground cloves
  • 3 cups grated carrots
  • 1 cup chopped pecans
  • 1/2 cup butter, softened
  • 8 ounces (1 cup) cream cheese, softened
  • 2 1/2 cups confectioners’ sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

How-to

  1. Preheat oven to 350F.
  2. In a large bowl, beat together eggs, oil, white and brown sugar, and 2 teaspoons vanilla. Mix in flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt, cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves and all spice. Stir in carrots. Fold in crushed pineapple. Pour into  prepared muffin pan.
  3. Bake in the preheated oven for 25 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the center of the cake comes out clean. Let cool in pan for 10 minutes, then transfer out and let cool completely.
  4. To Make Frosting: In a medium bowl, combine butter, cream cheese, confectioners’ sugar and 1 teaspoon vanilla. Beat until the mixture is smooth and creamy.  Frost the cooled cupcakes however you see fit.
  5. Serve and prepare to make them stop eating after 3 cupcakes before they explode.

xo dessertchick

3 Responses to “You’re the cream cheese icing on my carrot cake”

  1. kim February 26, 2009 at 4:26 am #

    oh these are precious! where did you buy those chocolate candy bits? i’ve only been able to find them in funfetti brownies. 😦

  2. dessertchick March 2, 2009 at 2:36 am #

    I stumbled on these when I was browsing this privately owned bulk food store close to my house, along with white chocolate chips so miniature in size, you’d hardly call them chips!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. birthday cookie madness « Chocolate Fool - July 4, 2009

    […] pipe whatever your heart desires onto the cookie card! In my case, I used a really easy and simple cream cheese frosting that I tinted blue with food […]

Leave a Reply

