Snickerdoodle Love

14 Feb

For this year, the Boy and I decided to keep it on the downlow and make presents rather than buying presents. However, my only condition was that we HAVE to exchange cards because I’m a big sucker for them. So I baked his favourite cookies, the simple yet delicious snickerdoodle – but with a valentine’s day twist!

snickerdoodle dough rolled in crystal sugar and cinnamon

snickerdoodle dough rolled in crystal sugar and cinnamon

these cookies don't spread out too thinly!

these cookies don't spread out too thinly!

nothing says love quite like hearts made of chocolate

nothing says love quite like hearts made of chocolate

a box full of snickerdoodles = a heart full of love

a box full of snickerdoodles = a heart full of love

the Boy likes them =)

the Boy liked them =)

So I pretty much followed my tried-and-true snickerdoodle recipe that the Boy loves, but added a bit of red food colouring gel to get this very nice pink/coral colour – which isn’t very apparent in these photos because I’m still working on making myself a lightbox. Also, I only used half the amount of white sugar used for rolling the dough in, and substituted the remaining half with red sugar crystals. Since a little cinnamon goes a very long way, it doesn’t interfere with the pink theme I have going on.

If I could change one thing, I’d probably choose white chocolate to draw the hearts with, and perhaps work on my “chocolate-manship,” but I think these turned out very pretty and just as tasty as the good ol’ snickerdoodles. I googled the recipe a while ago, and absolutely fell in love with how simple yet tasty it is. The key to this is to make sure to chill the dough thoroughly before rolling and again before baking it, so the cookie doesn’t spread too much. This way, you guarantee that it’ll be nice and crispy on the outside but buttery and soft on the inside.

Recipe

Ingredients

  • 1 cup butter
  • 1 1/2 cups sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2 3/4 cups flour
  • 2 teaspoons cream of tartar
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 3 teaspoons cinnamon

How-to

  1. Preheat oven to 350F.
  2. Mix butter, 1 1/2 cups sugar and eggs thoroughly in a large bowl.
  3. Combine flour, cream of tartar, baking soda and salt in a separate bowl.
  4. Blend dry ingredients into butter mixture.
  5. Chill dough, and chill an ungreased cookie sheet for about 10-15 minutes in the fridge.
  6. Meanwhile, mix 1/2 cup sugar, and 3 teaspoons cinnamon in a small bowl.
  7. Scoop 1 inch globs of dough into the sugar/ cinnamon mixture.
  8. Coat by gently rolling balls of dough in the sugar mixture. Here, I like to roll and coat all of the dough, and then chill all of the prepared snickerdoodle dough balls in the fridge, and then bake them in batches while they are keeping cool. This pevents them from melting too much in the oven.
  9. Place on chilled ungreased cookie sheet, and bake 10 minutes. If you are pre-chilling them in the fridge before you bake them, then having a chilled cookie sheet isn’t essential.
  10. Let rest for 2 minutes tofirm up, and then carefully remove the cookies from the pan. Transfer onto a wire rack to let them cool off.
  11. Forget about portion control, and start eating them all!

I hope everyone will enjoy their valentine’s day, whether you celebrate it or just have a nice Saturday. Or as my friend likes to tell people, Happy Birthday! It’s Galileo’s birthday!

xo dessertchick

6 Responses to “Snickerdoodle Love”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. You’re the cream cheese icing on my carrot cake « Chocolate Fool - February 20, 2009

    […] cheese, cupcake It was the Boy’s 22nd birthday on Wednesday, and after wowing him with the snickerdoodles on Vday, I had to think of yet another way to surprise &delight him and his tummy. So, after […]

  2. You’re the cream cheese icing on my carrot cake | Free Movie, Movie Download, Watch Movie Online - February 21, 2009

    […] was the Boy’s 22nd date on Wednesday, and after wowing him with the snickerdoodles on Vday, I had to conceive of still additional artefact to assail &delight him and his tummy. […]

  3. You’re the cream cheese icing on my carrot cake | Ultimate Cooking Blog - February 21, 2009

    […] was the Boy’s 22nd birthday on Wednesday, and after wowing him with the snickerdoodles on Vday, I had to think of yet another way to surprise &delight him and his tummy. So, after […]

  4. You’re the cream cheese icing on my carrot cake | Health Tips - February 22, 2009

    […] No comments It was the Boy’s 22nd birthday on Wednesday, and after wowing him with the snickerdoodles on Vday, I had to think of yet another way to surprise &delight him and his tummy. So, after […]

  5.   You’re the cream cheese icing on my carrot cake by Free Weight loss exercise program - February 24, 2009

    […] was the Boy’s 22nd birthday on Wednesday, and after wowing him with the snickerdoodles on Vday, I had to think of yet another way to surprise &delight him and his tummy. So, after […]

  6. You’re the cream cheese icing on my carrot cake « Talk of world - March 25, 2009

    […] was the Boy’s 22nd birthday on Wednesday, and after wowing him with the snickerdoodles on Vday, I had to think of yet another way to surprise &delight him and his tummy. So, after […]

Leave a Reply

