what does Monet do without his canvas?

17 Feb

He paints on the walls. Which is what I did. Sorta.

Well, for those who don’t know: my oven broke. As in, it’s kaputt. As in, no more cookies, right? Well, that’s where you’re wrong. And thank goodness for that, because a house without cookies, especially when it’s mine, is a very very sad house.

So here I present you with my favourite no-bake peanut butter cocoa drop cookies. They are delicious, soft, chewy and chok-full of chocolate. Mmmm-yum! And the best part is that they are so easy! And good for you, to boot!

who needs an oven? well, I do, but in the meantime....

who needs an oven? well, I do, but in the meantime....

the most delicious no-bake cookie ever

the most delicious no-bake cookie ever

They look quite dark in these pictures because a)  I used pure cocoa and b) my lighting in my kitchen is the bane of my existence. So in the meantime, you get the idea that they look ten times better than how they do in these photos.

Recipe

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1/4 cup cocoa
  • pinch of salt
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1/2 cup peanut butter
  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 3 cups oatmeal – use quick cook oats, NOT instant oatmeal. This way, it’s almost healthy and good for you!

How-to

  1. Combine sugar, cocoa, milk and butter in a large saucepan over medium heat.
  2. Cook until the mixture starts to boil and cook for 1 minute.
  3. Add vanilla, salt, peanut butter and oatmeal and quickly stir until combined.
  4. Drop teaspoons onto parchment paper and let cool.
  5. Eat and eat and eat. Yes, that’s it: only 4 steps to chocolate delight!

xo dessertchick

4 Responses to “what does Monet do without his canvas?”

  1. eastlakecounty February 24, 2009 at 4:18 am #

    My mother-in-law taught me to make these. They are a family favorite and my husband and I have been known to hide them from each other. 🙂 One day they made me a hero when I taught my great niece and nephew how to make them.

    Love your blog!

  2. dessertchick February 25, 2009 at 11:56 am #

    Isn’t it ridiculous how something so easy to make can taste to good? ha, if only all of life could be like that =)

  3. Brandon March 2, 2009 at 12:11 am #

    These sound amazing! I’d already be eating them if I had any oatmeal.

  4. dessertchick March 2, 2009 at 2:39 am #

    hmm run out and buy some oatmeal – these cookies will make it well worth the quick grocery run. perhaps pick up a bottle of pepto, since I couldn’t stop eating these cookies for days!

Leave a comment